龚博士是中国知名的专利纠纷和反垄断领域的专家,他在对外经济贸易大学任经济学教授十余年。

除学术工作外,龚博士还曾担任国际经济咨询公司的学术顾问、世界银行的经济政策专家顾问。在担任原商务部反垄断局的专家顾问期间,龚博士担任反垄断局国家竞争数据库项目的首席架构师。

原商务部反垄断局定期聘请龚博士就重要跨国并购申请进行审查,包括西部电子收购日立、希捷收购三星存储业务等案件。他在北京锐邦涌和科贸有限公司诉强生案中作为专家证人,发挥了关键作用,使得原告成功上诉,这也是中国有史以来第一起原告胜诉的反垄断诉讼。此后,龚博士作为专家证人,在多个滥用市场支配地位和垄断协议相关诉讼中,代表被告取得了成功。他代表的被告包括松下、日立、中石化、摩托罗拉和网易等著名跨国公司。龚博士还担任了华为诉康文森专利纠纷案的专家证人并协助华为胜诉。

作为一位多产的研究者和作家,龚博士在主要的国际学术期刊上发表了诸多论文。他是英国《中国经济和对外贸易研究》(JCEFTS)杂志的执行主编,以及几家亚洲主要英文报纸的著名经济和政治专栏作家,包括《南华早报》《环球时报》,并为中国国际电视台(CGTN)撰稿。

在2009年加入对外经济贸易大学之前,龚博士曾在美国贝尔通信研究所(新泽西)担任研究科学家,并在美国有线电视实验室(科罗拉多)担任战略评估高级顾问,积累了产业咨询和研究经验。龚博士在美国拥有两项交换式广播电视技术专利(美国专利No. 8,332,902和No. 8,566,888),其中一项已广泛应用于美国有线QAM调制设备的频谱分配算法。此外,龚博士还在美国前副总统戈尔的国家信息基础设施(NII)项目中发挥了重要作用。

Dr. Gong is a recognized patent dispute and antitrust expert in China, and has been a Professor of Economics at the University of International Business and Economics (UIBE) in Beijing for more than 10 years.

In addition to his academic work, Dr. Gong has served as an academic advisor with international economics consulting firms, an expert consultant for the World Bank advising countries on economic policy, and as an expert consultant with the Ministry of Commerce’s (MOFCOM) Antitrust Bureau in China, where he acted as the chief architect of the Bureau’s national competition database project.

The Bureau regularly retains Dr. Gong to consult on reviews of high-profile multinational merger applications, including Western Digital acquiring Hitachi and Seagate acquiring Samsung’s storage businesses. He played a vital expert witness role in successfully appealing Beijing Rainbow v. Johnson & Johnson, the first anti-monopoly lawsuit in China ever won by a plaintiff. Since then, he has served as an expert witness in successful outcomes on behalf of many notable multinational defendants in litigation related to abuse of dominance and monopoly agreements, including Panasonic, Hitachi, Sinopec, Motorola, and Netease. He also successfully served as the expert witness in the Huawei v. Conversant patent dispute.

A prolific researcher and writer, Dr. Gong has authored numerous publications in leading international academic journals. He was the executive editor of the UK-based Journal of Chinese Economic and Foreign Trade Studies (JCEFTS). He is also a renowned economic and political op-ed columnist for several leading English-language newspapers in Asia, including the South China Morning Post, Global Times, and CGTN (China Global Television Network).

Prior to joining UIBE in 2009, Dr. Gong gained industrial consulting and research experience in the US as a Research Scientist at Bell Communications Research (New Jersey) and as Senior Advisor of Strategic Assessment at Cable Television Laboratories Inc. (Colorado). He holds two US patents (US patent No. 8,332,902 and US patent No. 8,566,888) in switched broadcast television technologies, one of which has been widely deployed in spectrum allocation algorithms in cable QAM modulation equipment in the US. Additionally, Dr. Gong played a contributing role in US Vice President Al Gore’s National Information Infrastructure (NII) project.