Kai-Uwe Kühn ist Professor of Economics an der University of East Anglia. Er hat mehr als 25 Jahre Erfahrung als ökonomischer Berater in Wettbewerbsfragen. Prof. Kühn war der dritte Chef Ökonom der GD Wettbewerb der Europäischen Kommission.

Kai-Uwe Kühn ist Professor of Economics und stellvertretender Direktor des Centre for Competition Policy an der University of East Anglia. Er hat Gastlehraufträge am Düsseldorf Institute for Competition Economics (DICE) und der Georgetown University. Von Mai 2011 bis August 2013 war Prof. Kühn Chefökonom der GD Wettbewerb der Europäischen Kommission. Seit über 25 Jahren berät er Wettbewerbsbehörden und Privatunternehmen zu allen wettbewerbsökonomischen Themen des Kartellrechts, der Fusionskontrolle und Beihilferegelungen in der EU.

Seine Beratungstätigkeit deckt das gesamte Spektrum von Wettbewerbsthemen ab. Prof. Kühn beriet die Europäische Kommission und andere Wettbewerbsbehörden zur Wettbewerbspolitik (z.B. Marktdefinition, vertikalen Vereinbarungen, Informationsaustausch) sowie private Unternehmen zu wichtigen Zusammenschluss- (von GE/Honeywell in 2001 bis zu DriveNow/car2go, GaleriaKaufhof/Karstadt im letzten Jahr) und Marktmissbrauchsverfahren (von Microsoft I (Serverinteroperabilität) zu Fällen zu Meistbegünstigungsklauseln, Radiusklauseln im Vertrieb, und neuartigen Formen des Missbrauchs einer marktbeherrschenden Stellung (Datenschutzvorkehrungen) in der jüngsten Vergangenheit). Er ist auch seit Jahren als Parteigutachter in einer Vielzahl von Kartellschadensersatzfällen tätig. Während seiner Zeit als Chefökonom beriet Prof. Kühn den Wettbewerbskommissar in sämtlichen Fällen und wettbewerbspolitischen Initiativen (insb. der Modernisierung der Beihilferegelungen). Er leitete die Analyse bei zahlreichen Zusammenschlussvorhaben (z.B. Deutsche Börse/NYSE, UPS/TNT, Univeral/EMI, H3G/Orange Austria, Western Digital/Hitachi, Outokumpu/Inox) und Kartellrechtsverfahren (z.B. die Google, e-Books, und standardessentielle Patent Fälle), oftmals in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den jeweilig zuständigen Behörden der USA.

Den Großteil seiner akademische Laufbahn verbrachte Prof. Kühn als („tenured“) Associate Professor of Economics an der University of Michigan. Seine Forschung umfasst die theoretische, experimentelle und empirische Industrieökonomie mit einem breiten Themenspektrum: langlebigen Gebrauchsgüter, vertikale Integration und Verträge, Marktabschottung, Auswirkungen von Kreditbeschränkungen auf das Marktverhalten, sowie Kartellverhalten und die koordinierte Effekte von Fusionen. Seine Arbeiten wurde in führenden wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fachzeitschriften wie dem Journal of Political Economy, dem Rand Journal of Economics, dem American Economic Journal: Microeconomics und dem Journal of the European Economic Association veröffentlicht. Er war Mitherausgeber des Journal of Industrial Economics.

Practices
Education

Oxford University, DPhil in Economics

London School of Economics, MSc in Economics

University of Bonn, Vordiplom

Professor Kühn is a Professor of Economics at the University of East Anglia who has advised on all aspects of competition matters for 25 years. He has served as the Chief Economist of DG Competition, European Commission.

Professor Kühn is a Professor of Economics and Deputy Director of the Centre for Competition Policy at the University of East Anglia. He holds visiting appointments at the Düsseldorf Institute for Competition Economics (DICE) and Georgetown University. From May 2011 to August 2013, Professor Kühn was Chief Economist at DG Competition, European Commission. He has advised competition authorities and private firms on competition policy as well as merger, state aid, and antitrust cases for 25 years.

His consultancy work has covered the whole range of competition matters from policy issues (e.g. the Commission Notice on Market Definition (1997), the 1997 Green paper on Vertical Restraints, the 2010 Vertical Guidelines) to mergers (e.g. GE/Honeywell merger (2001) including the court appeal), and antitrust matters (e.g. the Microsoft I on server interoperability). Most recently he acted as an expert in a large number of cartel damages cases, advised on complex antitrust cases (e.g. hotel bookings and another MFN case, radius clauses, and novel forms of exploitative abuses such as privacy and other contractual terms), as well as large number of merger cases in different jurisdictions. During his time as Chief Economist, he advised the Competition Commissioner on all competition cases and policy initiatives (in particular State Aid Modernization) and led the economic analysis on many large mergers (e.g. Deutsche Börse/NYSE, UPS/TNT, Univeral/EMI, H3G/Orange Austria, Western Digital/Hitachi, Outokumpu/Inoxum) and antitrust cases (e.g. Google, e-books, and the Standard Essential Patent cases), often in close cooperation with counterparts at the US agencies.

Professor Kühn spent most of his academic career as a tenured Associate Professor of Economics at the University of Michigan. His research includes theoretical, experimental, and empirical industrial organization covering a wide range of topics including durable goods, vertical integration, vertical restraints, market foreclosure, the impact of credit constraints on market behaviour, as well as collusion and the coordinated effects of mergers. It has been published in leading journals like the Journal of Political Economy, The RAND Journal of Economics, the American Economic Journal: Microeconomics, and the Journal of the European Economic Association. He has been the Coeditor of The Journal of Industrial Economics.

Practices
Education

Oxford University, DPhil in Economics

London School of Economics, MSc in Economics

University of Bonn, Vordiplom

Languages

English