Skip to Main Content
May 20, 2021
How Can Grid-Enhancing Technologies Reduce Transmission Congestion? Bruce Tsuchida to Discuss at RMEL Spring Conference

Brattle Principal Bruce Tsuchida will discuss the findings of a recent study on grid-enhancing technologies at the 2021 RMEL Spring Management, Engineering & Operations Conference, which will take place virtually May 18–20.

Mr. Tsuchida will lead a breakout session, “Grid Enhancing Technologies,” on Thursday, May 20 from 9:30–10:15 a.m. (PT) | 10:30–11:15 a.m. (MDT) | 12:30–1:15 p.m. (ET). He will discuss how grid-enhancing technologies – namely, dynamic line ratings, advanced topology control, and advanced power flow control – can reduce transmission congestion and double the amount of renewable generating capacity that could be integrated into the Southwest Power Pool (SPP) grid system by 2025. The material will be based on a recent Brattle case study, “Unlocking the Queue with Grid-Enhancing Technologies,” which examined the amount of renewables that can be increased on the SPP, focusing on Kansas and Oklahoma.

For more information or to register, please visit the RMEL website.