Skip to Main Content
January 10, 2011
American Finance Association Announces 2010 Recipients of The Brattle Group Prize

The Brattle Group Prizes for best papers in Corporate Finance for 2010, judged to be exceptional by the associate editors of The Journal of Finance, were awarded at the American Finance Association's Annual Meeting in Denver, CO on January 7-9, 2011. The prizes are funded through a grant from The Brattle Group and awarded at the AFA's annual meeting. The winners of the first prize receive $10,000 and two runner-up papers each receive $5,000. All papers published in the prior year's issues of The Journal of Finance are eligible for the prizes. The Brattle Group congratulates the winners for their achievement.

First Prize Paper:

Andrew Hertzberg, José M. Liberti, and Daniel Paravisini, "Information and Incentives Inside the Firm: Evidence from Loan Officer Rotation," The Journal of Finance, June 2010.

Distinguished Paper:

Thorsten Beck, Ross Levine, and Alexey Levkov, "Big Bad Banks? the Winners and Losers from Bank Deregulation in the United States," The Journal of Finance, October 2010.

Distinguished Paper:

José M. Liberti and Atif R. Mian, "Collateral Spread and Financial Development," The Journal of Finance, February 2010.

For a complete list of past winners, please visit The Journal of Finance Brattle Prize page.

For more information on the American Finance Association, please visit their website.