Skip to Main Content
January 11, 2012
American Finance Association Announces 2011 Recipients of The Brattle Group Prize
The Brattle Group Prizes for best papers in Corporate Finance for 2011, judged to be exceptional by the associate editors of The Journal of Finance, were awarded at the American Finance Association's Annual Meeting in Chicago, IL on January 6-8, 2012. The prizes, handed out annually, are funded through a grant from The Brattle Group and awarded at the AFA's annual meeting by a Brattle representative. The winners of the first prize receive $10,000 and two runner-up papers each receive $5,000. All papers published in the prior year's issues of The Journal of Finance are eligible for the prizes. The Brattle Group congratulates the winners for their achievement. First Prize Paper: Efraim Benmelech and Nittai K. Bergman "Bankruptcy and the Collateral Channel," The Journal of Finance, April 2011. Distinguished Paper: Arthur Korteweg "The Net Benefits to Leverage," The Journal of Finance, December 2010. Distinguished Paper: Andrew Hertzberg, José M. Liberti and Daniel Paravisini "Public Information and Coordination: Evidence from a Credit Registry Expansion," The Journal of Finance, April 2011. For a complete list of past winners, please visit The Journal of Finance Brattle Prize page. For more information on the American Finance Association, please visit their website.