Skip to Main Content
January 05, 2015
American Finance Association Announces 2014 Recipients of The Brattle Group Prize

The Brattle Group Prizes for best papers in Corporate Finance for 2014, judged to be exceptional by the associate editors of The Journal of Finance, were awarded at the 2014 American Finance Association's Annual Meeting in Boston, MA on January 3-5, 2015. The prizes, handed out annually, are funded through a grant from The Brattle Group and awarded at the AFA's annual meeting by a Brattle representative. The winners of the first prize receive $10,000 and runner-up papers each receive $5,000. All papers published in the prior year's issues of The Journal of Finance are eligible for the prizes. The Brattle Group congratulates the winners for their achievement.

First Prize Paper: Douglas W. Diamond and Zhiguo He

"A Theory of Debt Maturity: The Long and Short of Debt Overhang," The Journal of Finance, April 2014.

Distinguished Paper: Ulf Axelson, Tim Jenkinson, Per Stromberg, and Michael S. Weisbach

"Borrow Cheap, Buy High? The Determinants of Leverage and Pricing in Buyouts," The Journal of Finance, December 2013.

Distinguished Paper: Ricardo J. Caballero and Alp Simsek

"Fire Sales in a Model of Complexity," The Journal of Finance, December 2013.

For a complete list of past winners, please visit The Journal of Finance Brattle Prize page.

For more information on the American Finance Association, please visit their website.