Skip to Main Content
January 07, 2016
Brattle Principal Stewart Myers Receives American Finance Association's Morgan Stanley Award For Excellence in Finance

The Brattle Group is pleased to announce that Brattle Principal Stewart Myers, a Professor of Financial Economics at the MIT Sloan School of Management, has been named the recipient of the Morgan Stanley – American Finance Association (AFA) Award for Excellence in Finance for 2016.

The award is granted bi-annually to an individual with significant career achievements and outstanding thought leadership in the field of financial economics. Candidates are evaluated based on the fundamental, sustained, and broad impact of their research.

Professor Myers is one of the world’s leading authorities on corporate finance, and was the first to point out the importance of real options. He has pioneered research on capital structure, capital budgeting and valuation, and the cost of capital for regulated industries. He is a co-author (with Richard A. Brealey and Franklin Allen) of the leading graduate-level textbook on corporate finance.

As a principal of The Brattle Group for the past 25 years, he has advised major corporations on mergers and acquisitions, capital investment decisions, financing, measurement of the cost of capital, and valuation. He has appeared as an expert witness in major cases and regulatory proceedings, testifying on the cost of capital, measurement of profitability and value, the economic foundations and design of rate of return regulation, intellectual property, the determination of damages, and tax issues.

“We congratulate Professor Myers on this outstanding achievement,” noted Alexis Maniatis, President of The Brattle Group. “It is a testament to the significance of his work, and we are proud to have him in our firm.”

Recipients of the award receive a gift of $200,000 to be made to an eligible institution of the recipient’s choosing in support of research activities in the financial field. Professor Myers has chosen the MIT Finance Group, the Cambridge Endowment for Research in Finance, and the Finance Theory Group as the recipients of the $200,000 grant.

For more information about the award, please visit the American Finance Association website.