Each year, the associate editors of The Journal of Finance select three winners to receive the Brattle Group Prize for outstanding papers on corporate finance. This year’s awards were announced at the American Finance Association’s (AFA) 2020 Annual Meeting in San Diego on January 3­–5. All papers published in the prior year’s issues of The Journal of Finance are eligible to win.

First Prize, $25,000: Arpit Gupta, New York University

Foreclosure Contagion and the Neighborhood Spillover Effects of Mortgage Defaults, The Journal of Finance, October 2019

Distinguished Paper, $10,000: David Schoenherr, Princeton University

Political Connections and Allocative Distortions, The Journal of Finance, April 2019

Distinguished Paper, $10,000: Andrey Malenko and Nadya Malenko, Boston College

Proxy Advisory Firms: The Economics of Selling Information to Voters, The Journal of Finance, October 2019

These prizes are funded through a grant from The Brattle Group and presented at the AFA’s annual meeting by a Brattle representative. The Brattle Group has supported this yearly award for more than 20 years, in an effort to recognize academic achievement in offering robust analysis and debate on compelling issues facing the corporate finance community. We congratulate the winners on their achievement!

For a complete list of past winners, visit the Brattle Group Prize page.

For more information on the AFA, please visit their website.