Each year, the Associate Editors of The Journal of Finance – published by the American Finance Association (AFA) – select three winners to receive The Brattle Group Prizes for outstanding papers in corporate finance. The Brattle Group supports this annual award to recognize the importance of excellence in providing groundbreaking analysis and debate on compelling issues facing the corporate finance community.

The winners of the 2022 Brattle Group Prize in Corporate Finance are:

First Prize, $25,000: Andreas Fuster, Paul Goldsmith-Pinkham, Tarun Ramadorai, and Ansgar Walther
Predictably Unequal? The Effects of Machine Learning on Credit Markets
The Journal of Finance, February 2022

Distinguished Paper, $10,000: Asaf Bernstein
Negative Home Equity and Household Labor Supply
The Journal of Finance, December 2021

Distinguished Paper, $10,000: Isaac Hacamo and Kristoph Kleiner
Forced Entrepreneurs
The Journal of Finance, February 2022

The Brattle Group has funded this annual award for more than 20 years. These prizes are presented at the AFA’s annual meeting, and this year’s awards were announced at the AFA’s Annual Meeting 2023, which took place January 6–8 in New Orleans, LA. All papers published in issues of The Journal of Finance from the first five issues of the given year, and December of the previous year, are eligible. We congratulate the winners on their achievements!

View a Complete List of Past Winners

More about the AFA